If you find yourself in a non vegan Christmas context you will want to know if there are items from this festive menu which you can enjoy. As always, is better to be informed about what some of these treats are so you know what to ask and when.
We’ve put together a petite list of Christmas market goodies that might be accidentally vegan.
Warmed wine has been around since the 2nd century. Romans brought it to Europe and each country added its own flair. It’s basically warmed red wine with orange peel and spices that vary depending on the country you’re in but usually cinnamon, clove and anise are the prevalent ones.
This is a cake-like bread with fruit that is made with yeast, water, flour and ,depending on the recipe, rum, eggs, butter, milk, orange, marzipan and cinnamon. As you might notice, some of this ingredients are not vegan. Even though stollen is not traditionally vegan, with the rise of alternative diets, vendors have been making vegan stollen. So, when in doubt, always ask.
It’s typical to have candied nuts in Christmas markets. In Germany, candied almonds or Gebrannte Mandeln are more traditional. The recipe usually has cinnamon, salt, vanilla extract and sugar although we’ve found recipes in which they add egg whites or butter so beware of those two ingredients.
This one doesn’t need a lot of explanation. Is that: fried potatoes but, these are usually served with mayo and that what you need to keep in mind before ordering them.
Christmas pretzels, that is. We are talking about the fluffy and sweet ones rather than the crunchy and salty kind that we would usually find in a bar or an airplane. These are mainly made out of salt, water, yeast, sugar and flour although if they have toppings, make sure they are vegan.
This one is a staple as street food and it’s also comfort food for many. Served warm in a paper bag, they
prove that simplicity is also delicious.
Do you know of Christmas market food that might accidentally be vegan? Let us know!